Home > Uncategorized > Planting a Church: Launch Team Week 1

Planting a Church: Launch Team Week 1

So Courtney and I jumped into this church planting thing last year very hopeful, but with no real idea of what would happen. We’ve known for sometime that Charlotte is the city God is calling us to, but who would be the people God would send with us to plant this church? Thus began our recruiting phase. We had vision nights that went way better than we could have imagined, and interest in joining the team started strong. But still, its a long journey from “hey that sounds interesting” to “hey man I want to pick up my life and help start a new church.”

Charlotte 1

First Mercy Church Meeting in Charlotte!

The highs and lows of team building and fund-raising and strategy development over these past few months have put me in a deeper reliance on the grace of God than I’ve been in a long time. In fact just last week I had a really despairing couple of days as four different “bad news” events happened to our efforts. None of them devastating but all together took a toll on me. I told a good friend “Man, I’m an idiot. How did they ever agree to let me plant a church?” To which he replied “you are an idiot. and you need to embrace that cause that’s who God uses to build his church.” Fellow idiots, be encouraged!

Raleigh 1

First Mercy Church Meeting in Raleigh!

But I digress. The moment we’ve been excited to get to is our first launch team meeting. With these awesome people I’ve been bragging on everywhere I go. For our rdu based team members, I can’t tell you how much fun it is to see people’s faces when they finally understand what I’m talking about when I say we are bringing “a team.” Their confused look is accompanied with some version of “wait, you are telling me 30+ people are quitting their jobs, uprooting their lives, and moving with you…for a church?” I love the Mercy Church will be characterized by such faith that surprises even christians. Then there are our Charlotte team members who are already building our reputation as a new church in Charlotte. These people are all over it. In many ways I wish we could move next week to get down there and join the work God is already doing through them.

So that’s our team. A growing group of people moving from strangers to family over this spring. We are in two cities right now, looking forward to the summer when we finally are all in one place. Pray for Mercy Church. We believe God is just getting started!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Logan
    February 16, 2015 at 12:36 pm

    Looks great

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

