Home > Uncategorized > The People of God: Empowering the Church to make disciples

The People of God: Empowering the Church to make disciples

People of God CoverBut you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.” 1 Peter 2.9-10

I’ve been anxiously awaiting when I can tell you about the book I recently wrote. It’s titled The People of God and it is debuting this week at Together For the Gospel. The team over at B&H took a risk on myself and my good friend Trevor Joy and I am grateful they did. I am honored the book’s official release is at such a great conference like t4g. Oh, and one thing real quick…LOOK MOM!!! I WROTE A BOOK!! thanks guys, had to get that out. feeling better now.

For my part, this book is the fruit of 12 years as a part of the Summit Church Family who has loved on and invested into me and my family in so many deep and meaningful ways. The same is true for Trevor over at the Village Church, a true sister church to the Summit in every sense. His pastor Matt Chandler wrote the foreword, and my pastor & friend J.D. Greear wrote the afterword. Both Trevor and I now have the humble privilege of coaching churches around the world towards a healthy practice of making disciples in the local church. This book is the fruit of our time here in the trenches, hoping it will be helpful to other men & women down the line in their trenches of ministry.

In short, this book is a message of hope for the church. I know the church can be screwed up. I went through some messy church stuff growing up (an entire chapter is devoted to this problem). Yet the people of God remain the bride of Christ. We have been called TO something together. And I believe the church can be the family-on-mission God has designed it to be.

We worked hard to make this a practical theology for the church. That is, this book will discuss a theology of community, but then give you some very practical steps to take to implement that theology. I’m not gonna lie, now that it is in print and available for you to read, I’m a little nervous.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

