Home > Uncategorized > Free Small Group Study: Presence

Free Small Group Study: Presence

I know many of you are in the final throws of your fall launch. No question I am here at the Summit. So, I want to give you a quick break that could result in free stuff. Just this month the Summit had the privilege to publish one of our sermon series as a small group study thanks to the team at LifeWay. The study includes a set of sermons by our lead pastor J.D. Greear and a study guide I wrote to go along with it. You can read more about it on J.D.’s blog and on the LifeWay site.

So here is the fun part. Through Friday of this week I will be giving away 10 PRESENCE small group kits. That’s right. 10! This is a big give away. Here is what you have to do to win:

  • In the comment section, tell us 1) How has God used your small group in your life to bring you along as a disciple of Christ?
  • Tweet & or post in other social media “Get a Free copy of the new LifeWay small group study PRESENCE by @jdgreear & @spenceshelton. http://ow.ly/6o5zN  #presence”
Winners will be announced here on the blog on Monday.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 7, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Wow, generous Spence! Thanks for sharing!

    My small group has been instrumental to my growth as a leader and a believer. I actually have led more people to Christ in my small group than I ever did doing the whole door to door witnessing thing as a younger man. It has forced me to really be able to articulate who Jesus is and what he did in my life. I’m so grateful for that!

    @adam_e_parker

  2. Beau Bredow
    September 7, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    From the beginning of my relationship with Jesus, my Sunday school class was extremely important. God used those people in my group for support and encouragement as I started my new life in Christ. They were my accountability to the things of God. My Sunday school class is where God showed my my gifts and talents. I was the director for the group and also served in outreach for the group.

  3. September 7, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    After years of being a “loner” in church, the men of our small group drew me out of my shell and gave me a place to belong. It allowed me to be real with them and with God rather than wearing the typical church mask when in church or when praying – as if God couldn’t see behind my mask. Those men are still dear to my heart though that group is long gone.

  4. Mark
    September 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    My wife and I freed up our Thursday nights about a year ago for the purpose of hosting couples from our Sunday school class in an environment where we could spend more intimate time together as couples outside of the limitations of a Sunday morning schedule. The first few months were tough trying to discern if we made the right decision, but then God began to move in a mighty way and four other couples joined us and committed to meet weekly for Bible study and discipleship. Many months later we are incredibly close. The intimacy in the group has allowed us to share with the group struggles we wouldn’t have normally and given couples support they wouldn’t normally have. We just met to discuss our future and will be continuing, seeing what God has in store.

  5. bolinpath
    September 7, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    My small group has helped me apply the sermons on Sunday to my life in more intentional and purposeful ways.

  6. Grace Deffinbaugh
    September 7, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Enter me! God has used our small group in my life to encourage me to have a better attitude at work and so many other ways I probably don’t even realize yet!

  7. Dan Brubacher
    September 7, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    I have been in (and led) numerous small groups, and each one has impacted me in some unique ways. But one of the common strands has been how God uses the ordinary, everyday stuff of life to rub off our rough edges and make us more like Christ. Just processing stuff like work concerns or issues with our kids or spending decisions, etc., in the context of community has been formational. In fact, I can’t wait to see who God brings into our existing group over the next few weeks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

