Home > Uncategorized > Coach K on Christian Leadership

Coach K on Christian Leadership

I live in the heart of Raleigh-Durham. I am a UNC grad, my brothers are NCSU guys and some of my best friends are Duke alumn. The Rivalries abound. One thing all 3 schools have in common is some great coaches have come through in various sports. A buddy sent me this video done by Duke Divinity School. It is part of a series available on You Tube asking the question “What is christian about christian leadership?” I thought Coach K’s response was worth putting on here for discussion. What do you think?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Josh
    January 6, 2011 at 7:27 am

    HUGE miss. I guess that’s a decent start at morality, ethics, and professional courtesy – but it doesn’t even remotely begin to be Christian. A better explanation would

    1. Actually mention Christ
    2. Talk about how he saved us
    3. Talk about how that gives us a lens through which to view people and leadership

    • January 6, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Have to agree with Josh here. I am no Duke fan but I have an immense amount of respect for what Coach K has accomplished in his coaching career. Still, you cannot define Christian leadership without the concept of servanthood. It was central to the ministry of Christ and his example of leadership.

      I coach a little league basketball team. (Obviously, I’m not comparing myself to Coach K here.) One of the ways in which I show servant leadership is by never asking my players to suffer anything I won’t go through with them. I never put them through anything I’m not willing to lead them through. If they run sprints, I run sprints. If they do defensive drills, I do defensive drills. Not only is it a small way for me to emulate Christ in what He has done for all of us, but it also helps me to form a better bond of respect with my players and allows me to lead them more effectively.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

