Home > Uncategorized > Monday on the Links

Monday on the Links

Last year I tried out this “Monday on the Links” idea and got a pretty good response so we are going to try and ramp it back up this year. I want to direct your attention today to some quality sites that are becoming increasingly helpful to me as a small group leader and coach of other leaders. I warn you, you will quickly get lost in the sea of great material found in these links. So pace yourself.

Small Group World by Rick Howerton – Rick is probably the guy I am most excited about finding and beginning to learn from. His new blog Small Group World is long overdue. He has an important place in helping shape and resource small group ministries across the country and he seems to be the right guy for that role. Enjoy.

Heather Zempel – Heather is quickly becoming a sought after voice on discipleship and group life. Her new book, sacred roads, provides a fresh look at discipleship ironically enough by looking back over the history of the church with a focus on how we’ve historically “made disciples.” Its atop my “to read” list right now.

Baptist21 – Lets take a hard turn for a second. I do not use this blog for much if any denomination specific content because I recognize spiritual formation principles apply across denominational lines. That said, I am grateful for the Southern Baptist Convention I am a part of and especially grateful for the men who have devoted themselves to restoring health and focus to this denomination. The guys at B21 are doing a great job of keeping their readers informed and equipped to navigate the issues as they arise in the SBC. So no this is not small group specific, but helpful for you fellow SBC peeps out there.

Life and Theology by Ben Reed – A fellow young small groups pastor like myself, this guy is just fun to read and interact with. He is working through many of the same issues I find myself working through and manages to observe and provide insight in helpful and creative ways. Oh, and he keeps his posts short. That’s because he is smart and knows all blog readers have ADD. good job Ben.

That’s it for today. For future reference, what would be helpful for you on “Monday on the links?” let me know.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Dang! Thanks Spence!! You’ve got a copy of Sacred Roads, right? If not, give me a yell and I’ll send you a copy.

  2. February 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Dang! Thanks Spence!! You’ve got a copy of my book, right? Oh wait…I haven’t written a book…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

