Home > Uncategorized > On the Shelf update

On the Shelf update

I’ve neglected my “on the shelf page” so thought today I would dust it off. Every month we are sharing with our staff team what we’ve been reading through. Thought this would be a good chance to share some of that with you. And. want to give you the chance to share back as well. What are you reading this summer?

Books:
Here I Stand
Genre: history / bio
Subject: Martin Luther Bio
Author: Roland Bainton
Page count: 302
Comment: Recommended to me as the best out there on Luther. Bainton does a good job telling the story and not just listing facts. Reads like a novel. 4 out of 5 stars.
Learned: Even Martin Luther needed a host of other people to make his words have any real force behind them. Fredrick the Wise was as crucial to the reformation as Luther was in many ways as he was basically the govenor of Luther’s area of Germany. Lesson: You cannot do it alone. Luther held to doctrinal purity and trusted God by trusting his life to others at times. Love jesus, trust God, and work as a team.

Total Church
Genre: Church Health / Contemporary Bio
Subject: Examination of church fundamentals by British Church Planters
Author: Steve Timmis & Tim Chester
Page Count: 208
Comment: We got a detailed handout on it last staff meeting. I encourage you to go read the whole book. WORTH IT
Learned: There is the gospel and the people of God. The most important thing we can do is be a healthy church. We’ve got to see the church not as our volunteer pool but as the bride of Jesus. Cherish, love, and care for these people.

The Dangerous Book for Boys
Genre: Fun / Parenting
Subject: 2 Dads take on stuff every boy should know
Author: Gonn & Hal Iggulden
Page Count: 267
Comment: John Posey gave it to me when I found out I was having a boy for my first child. Best gift I got. I continue to learn from it.
Learned: I think I blogged recently about this one. More available there. But the other day I learned the 5 essential knots every boy should know. So watch yourself in the hallways as I have a 100ft rope and now know how to use it.

Religion Saves
Genre: Christian Living / Culture
Subject: Mark Driscoll on 9 issues christians have questions about right now
Author: Mark Driscoll
Page Count: 288
Comment: Confess I didnt read all of this one but found it a helpful resource I will go back to for commentary on those issues
Learned: Specifically found some help in the first issue he addresses: Birth Control. Working through that issue right now and found his pastoral tone and insight helpful. Along these lines I recommend Randy Alcorn’s pdf-book Does The Birth Control Pill Cause Abortions? which you can download for free online at epm.org.

Sermons: ADVANCE ’09 – all worth a second listen, but specifically Matt Chandler’s message and Mark Driscoll’s Idolatry message.

Blogs:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Carl
    July 12, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    read HERE I STAND again last year – first time was while at UNC-CH – great Martin Luther bio

    read UNLIKELY DISCIPLE – Kevin Roos – his journey from Brown U to Liberty – incognito – funny but learned a lot about myself too – JD blogged on this book recently – Roose saw JD’s blog – commented – great stuff.

    got copy of Driscol’s RELIGION SAVES recently from Advance09 – interesting perspective on issues – a ‘quick read’ –

    thanks for sharing these with us, spence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

