Home > Uncategorized > A Cool Story & The Tag Cloud

A Cool Story & The Tag Cloud

Earlier this week I shared with you that God is at work in our small groups. Below is the text of an email I received from a woman in one of our groups. I share it with you with her permission. Hope you will praise God with me. Also, the  tag cloud over on the right has been updated to hopefully make this site of more use to you. Every post I’ve put up over the past 16 months is tagged under one or more of those tags listed in the cloud.

A letter from a group member:

Spence-
I just wanted to take a moment to let you know how grateful I am for summit life groups.  Last week JD’s sermon on addictions kind of rocked my world.  God put His finger right on the sin of gluttony in my life, and it was not fun.  Tuesday before small group I was tempted to not go to small group because I knew it was going to be rough.  I went anyway though because deep down I wanted it to be rough.  Well, I was right… it was rough.  We talked through the discussion guide, and I was more quiet than normal, just thinking about things.  When it came time for the question about a real way that our group could hold us accountable this week, My Leader decided to turn that into our prayer time (such good wisdom on his part).  My goodness… the moment I started to talk, the flood gates came down.  The more I tried to talk, the more I cried… good thing my small group loves me and didn’t seem to care.  It was so good to not hear (as I have so many times) that this isn’t that big of a sin, that I just need to be more disciplined, or that someone knew a great weight loss plan I should try.  Nope.  My small group prayed.  For the first time, I feel like there are people in my life who see this struggle for the sin that it is, and they’re fighting this fight with me.  One of the women in the group even came up with the idea of only bringing healthy snacks to small group.  She said, “if someone in our group struggled with alcoholism, we wouldn’t meet in a bar!”  I know that my summit life group is praying for me, and that in itself is freeing!  I don’t know what I would do without them.  JD’s sermon was great, but if it hadn’t been for that night of really digging into the Word, and praying for each other, I don’t know that JD’s sermon would have “stuck.”  I don’t say that to diminish the power of the Word in a sermon, or the crazy gift that God has given JD to preach… I just really believe that it was in my summit life group that God truly broke me.  It’s like He knew that was a better place because I’d be surrounded with people who love me and could pray for me and walk through this stuggle with me.  I guess I’m just rambling now, but I just wanted you to know that I am thankful for the ministry you do.  I pray that you hear many more stories of Gospel-centered, life-changing moments in summit life groups!!

Life change happens.

  1. April 29, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Awes0me letter. THanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

