Home > Uncategorized > Dr. says J.D. can help

Dr. says J.D. can help

When I became a parent 7.75 months ago, I was thrust into a quite challenging world where sleep is not a necessity but a luxury. In these almost 8 months my wife and I have not slept for more than 3 hours in a row (with the exception of 3 glorious nights around month 5). I tell you that to tell you we have been in a constant state of research & experimenting to find the right “fix” to get our little guy snoozing.

Well, just the other day Courtney stumbled onto a chapter of a children’s health book, written by a Doctor, who provided a cure in the following words

“There is no worthwhile immediate treatment your doctor can provide that you cannot provide yourself…give whiskey by mouth which will help the child sleep (give 10 drops of whiskey to a small baby and up to one-half teaspoon to a larger one. the dose can be repeated in one hour and once more in another hour if needed.)”

Im not sure how I missed this idea! Tonight when Zeke gets up, I will bring him downstairs where I have Jack Daniels shots lined up across the counter. We will each pound one, and head back to bed. May have to put his in his bottle, but I bet he will get it down ok. He’s chunky so Im sure he can hold his liquor. And if it doesnt work the first time, round 2 will follow just 60 minutes later.

No this is not a flashback to some college frat party game, its parenting advice on pg.150 of the book im reading (which I will leave nameless because im pretty sure I didnt do the whole thing justice by picking out this one specific peice of advice).

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. LPD
    April 3, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    I immediately went to my baby book to see if it said the same thing, but it didn’t 🙂

  2. April 6, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    that explains alot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

