Home > Uncategorized > going to Duke. pt. 1

going to Duke. pt. 1

The following is my attempt at telling a story in the present that also includes flashbacks.

Yesterday I did something for the first time. See, unlike some pastors on our staff at the Summit, I am ok letting you know which shade of blue I wear in the duke – unc rivalry. Yesterday was actually 7 years in the making. in the fall of 2000, I enrolled at UNC – Chapel Hill. Even though I was a tarheel before I enrolled (thanks dad!) I was quick to fully immerse myself into the love of Carolina that characterizes most who spend 4 years on the hill.
Yesterday’s adventure begins on towerview dr in Durham NC where I saw the first flag donning the Duke University seal as it hung from a lampost. The first lampost of several that, like trumpets in meidevil times, signal you are now entering Duke territory.

My freshman dorm room was filled with UNC paraphanalia. Pennants, Posters, Cups, t-shirts, comforter & sheet sets, the all important Fan Shirt, and a very random framed picture of Rick Pitino who my kentucky-born roomate adored. I went to all the games. Never left before singing the alma mater. Which, if you dont know, ends in a curse of our sworn enemey: “Go to hell Duke!”

Students are walking around. All in Duke garb. The dark blue is everywhere. That word…duke…its everywhere. We turn left onto the road the parking deck is on. We? I volunteered to take a friend (a duke fanatic) to see Duke’s campus for his first time along with his two young boys. We park at the bryan center. We stand up out of the car basically in the shadow of the towering, legendary, duke chapel. Is it staring at me? Does it know im not a dukie? I must press on.

Fall Junior Year (2002). I’ve found a church. Homestead Heights. They are talking about changing the name though. Calling it the Summit Church. Whatever, sounds cool to me. The pastor invites me to a bible study he holds for a group of college guys. They study theology and meet at…6:30 am on Friday mornings. I take him up on the offer, calling it my late thursday night bible study. I walk in my first morning with one other UNC guy and to my shock 4 or 5 guys wearing Duke clothes are sitting in the circle of folding chairs. I actually stopped walking. Then found a seat with a couple of guys wearing light blue.  This pastor was attempting the unthinkable. Duke & UNC students….together in a bible study? Supposedly there to become…friends….brothers???? This guy was a Campbell grad. Who did he think he was? How was he going to keep us from the inevitable brawl that was going to ensue? I didnt know these guys, but could only assume they worshipped satan.

to be continued…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. March 2, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I can’t wait for part 2! you have me on the edge of my seat.

    Was a brawl going to come forth?
    Will there be more cuss words in your next post? I HOPE SO!

    The suspense is killing me.

  1. March 6, 2009 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

