Home > Uncategorized > Who Me?

Who Me?

From Guest Blogger and SummitLIFE group leader Bonnie Shrum:

Two years ago, if you had told me that I would be mentoring and discipling a group of young women in their 20’s, I would have said you were crazy. Not me. What do I know? What do I have to share? I don’t have books of the Bible memorized, I can’t debate election, and I can’t tell you the addresses for the few verses I do know. But God had a greater plan, and thankfully this dumb sheep listened. Over the last two years, I’ve had nine different young women in my life and it’s been one of my greatest joys.

I am a firm believer in women doing life together with other women. Getting lots of estrogen together and surviving each other’s mood swings is a vivid reminder of God’s unfailing love for me through the gospel. And praying together, not just for each other, but for the Summit and for our world, helps me to engage in God’s kingdom purposes and not focus on ME. Digging into God’s word together and wrestling with life grows us deep, knits us together as sisters in Christ and strengthens our faith. But that kind of transparency just doesn’t happen – it’s deliberate.

Our group has made a commitment to each other. Each year, we commit to make our group a priority, and missing a study for the sake of missing isn’t an option. It’s pretty hard to create accountability when you have to retell your story week after week because someone wasn’t there. We learn scripture together. Each of us comes with one memorized verse a week, and we accumulate verses during our study. Right now, we’re in a 25 week study, and at the end of that time we’ll have 25 verses that we have to say to each other. After two years as a group, we each have learned over 100 verses! That forces us to be in the Word and allow it to penetrate our hearts during the week. And we ask each other the hard spiritual questions like “How many quiet times did you have this week?” and “How would you rate them on a scale of 1 to 10”. Almost always, when one of our ladies is struggling, the first question asked is “How is your time with the Lord?” We schedule social time together, we serve our community together, and we make it a priority to get to know and pray for one another.

These ladies have made me feel wiser than I ever dreamed I could be, cooler than I ever thought I would be, and humbled more than I would have been without them in my life. As much as I love them, I have the sense that it’s time to kick them out of the nest. The time may be coming to deliberately end our small group. We’re all getting too comfortable. So we’re entering into what may be our last year together, before I send them out to mentor other women. Like me, they have so much to offer other ladies, but they are stuck on the “Who me?” question.

Most men, when asked to take on a challenge or even a job promotion, don’t ask “Who me?” They ask, “When can I start?” But the reality is that most women have been taught to be humble and so we say “Oh no, I couldn’t” or “I’m just not qualified”. The reality is that none of us are qualified, for apart from Christ we can do nothing. But we CAN do all things through Christ who strengthens us. So get out there! Dare to believe that God not only can use you, but wants to use you to advance His kingdom purposes. Start a small group. Do it prayerfully, but do it confidently and with a plan. And women, I’m calling specifically on you – DARE to walk life with other women, DARE to believe God. Then stand back and watch Him work.

  1. September 23, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Woo hoo! Bonnie Shrum is finally rockin’ the blogosphere. I just checked, and bonnieblogger.wordpress.com isn’t being used. Bonnie, get on over there and sign up. This is a great post!

  2. Shannon
    September 24, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Very encouraging! Thank you Bonnie and Spence!

  3. October 20, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Great post–and highly encouraging! Thanks!
    Jailer
    http://philippianjailer.blogspot.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

